South Hams indoor bowler Matt Hammett is through to the area semi-finals of the men’s two-wood singles after an accomplished win over experienced rival John Kelly (Plymouth Life Centre) 21-17 writes Tony Atkins.

Hammett now faces another experienced opponent in Cornwall Liberty Trophy team member Norman Coad (Bod­min), who took his place in the last four after Alan Hawke (Carnmoggas) conceded.

Harry Goodwin remains unbeaten in the competition after the former Kingsbridge Com­munity College student beat Torquay clubmate Ryan Whi­tlock 21-4.

Beaten by Whitlock in the qualifying rounds of the four-wood singles, Goodwin, 20, looked the winner from the word go, taking control with some precision bowling at Plainmoor, Torquay.

As the match wore on, a voice cried: “Not your day, Ryan.” Whitlock’s response: “I’m being outplayed, that’s why I’m 14 shots behind!”

Goodwin now plays Simon Broom (Exonia) who beat north Devon’s John Gayton.

In the men’s county inter-club, South Hams beat Isca Silver 95-56. Matt Hammett skipped his rink of Bill McKimm, Denis Hurrell and Mike Mitchelmore to a 19-16 victory, but Barry Geldard posted a big win after linking up with Frank Senft, Simon Shaw and David Sherlock 33-10. Completing the scoring were John Fowler, Dan O’Carroll, Ron Elson and John Yeabsley 20-14 and Richard Good, Tony Dore, John Harding and Antony Hammett 23-15.

This week, Devon ladies were taking on Cornwall in the SWC league at Plymouth.

The team included county president Lesley Crutchley and clubmates Mavis Wellington and reserve Diane Smith.

Devon president Lesley Crutchley (South Hams) will hope to see the county team beat Cornwall in the annual Tamar Challenge at Plymouth on February 13 (1.30).

The team is dominated by players from Plymouth Life Centre. Team: Y Williams (Hon­iton), Janet Hutchins (Torbay), S Kellaway, Jenny Biagott (Ply­mouth LC); J Broom (Honiton), T Partridge (Plymouth), Pam Grant (Torbay), Linda Sampson Ply­mouth LC); P Jones (Ply­mouth LC), D Hawkins (Honiton), Heather Pickard (Torbay), Anita Harris (Plymouth LC); Wendy Collier (Plymouth LC), M Jenkins (Torbay), O Davis, Sonia Bowden (Plymouth LC).Reserves; Diane Smith (South Hams), H Wagstaff (Torbay), S Punshun, V Ridley, G Morgan (Ply­mouth).