Reults are in for the seven South Hams seats on Devon County Council, with business as usual being the order of the day as all the incumbents bar one have won re-election.

Conservative Jonathan Hawkins has comfortably retained his Dartmouth seat on Devon County Council. Cllr Hawkins secured 2,380 votes, well ahead of Lib Dem Simon Rake, who finished second with 707. Third was Labour’s Kevin John with 549. Turnout was 40.28 per cent.

The leader of Devon County Council, John Hart also held his Bickleigh and Wembury seat comfortably for the Conservatives. He received 2,470 votes, ahead of Labour’s Edward Parsons with 534, the Green Party’s Win Scutt with 416 and the Lib Dems’ Christopher Oram with 353. Turnout was 38.59 per cent.

In Ivybridge, Roger Croad retained his seat, winning 1,982 votes ahead of Victor Abbott for the Lib Dems with 855 and David Trigger for Labour with 621. Turnout was 37.75 per cent.

In Kingsbridge Lib Dem Julian Brazil retained his seat with 2,683 votes, ahead of Conservative Samantha Dennis with 1,793. Turnout was 48.02 per cent.

In Salcombe Rufus Gilbert secured 2,500 votes to retain his seat, ahead of Lib Dem Mark Lawrence with 622, Jonno Barrett for Labour with 479 and Lily Rixon of the Green Party with 462. Turnout was 44.02 per cent.

In Totnes and Dartington, incumbent Jacqi Hodgson comfortably held on to her seat with an impressive 3,026 votes, ahead of Jamie Rogers for the Conservatives with 1,088 and Jill Hannam for Labour with 738.

South Brent and Yealmpton bucked the trend as Conservative Richard Hosking was unseated by Daniel Thomas of the Lib Dems. Mr Thomas gained 2,112 votes, narrowly beating Mr Hosking, who was second with 2,074. Labour’s Paul Bishop finished third with 784.

The Conservatives have already retained control of Devon County Council having achieved the 31 seats necessary for a majority.

The newly formed anti-lockdown Freedom Alliance Party finished in last place in each of the seven seats.

The by-election for the Ivybridge West ward on South Hams District Council saw Conservative Louise Jones elected with 933 votes, ahead of Katie Reville for the Green Party with 768 and Tony Rea for the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition with 149. The turnout was 38.37 per cent. The result means the Conservatives have regained official control of the council.

Results have not yet been declared in the race to be the next Police and Crime Commissioner.